Topic Options
#432659 - 12/28/11 11:16 PM Ogilvy vs Ecogold - Again
Lise Offline
Grand Prix Member
I know this has been brought up in the past, but I was hoping we could revisit it.

I am specifically interested in Ogilvy memory foam half pad versus the Ecogold memory foam triple protection half pad.

I have been having a difficult time with saddle fit with my new horse, and I don't have many thousands to spend on a custom right now as I am also a University student...

I know that no pad will make an improperly fitting saddle fit and that I need to continue my search. But I do think that some impact protection would be nice for the horse regardless.

Which of these two would you select, and why?
#432663 - 12/28/11 11:58 PM Re: Ogilvy vs Ecogold - Again [Re: Lise]
CiscoKid Offline
Grand Prix Member
I would go with the Ecogold.

Does memory foam offer impact protection?
#432678 - 12/29/11 09:13 AM Re: Ogilvy vs Ecogold - Again [Re: Lise]
LadyB Offline
Grand Prix Member
Loc: Ontario
My concern is how much Ogilvy effects your saddle fit. They are much thicker than the Ecogolds, which plays witht the fit of your saddle. IMO.

Have you seen the ecogold video for the pressure points?
Check this out.
http://ecogold.blogspot.com/
The first blog is about the saddle pads done with pressure scans, pretty neat.
#432683 - 12/29/11 09:33 AM Re: Ogilvy vs Ecogold - Again [Re: Lise]
CZF Offline
Grand Prix Member
Loc: Hamilton, Ontario
I would suggest taking a look at the cost to reflock your saddle vs. the pad. You might find you get better value and a better fit to just reflock.

I have an Ogilvy, and I do find it a bit bulky under my saddle.
#432684 - 12/29/11 09:48 AM Re: Ogilvy vs Ecogold - Again [Re: Lise]
Against_All_Odds Offline
Grand Prix Member
Loc: Canada
I found the ogilvy half pad affected my saddle fit too much. However I will only buy their baby pads! They are fantastic and really "stick" your saddle where it needs to be!